It may not be the best idea…

When you’re moving across the country with nothing that can’t be carried in a backpack or small luggage, it may be a bad idea to continue to pick up horror movies. I can’t help it, I love them.

I guess I'm packing less clothes

So, when I land at the other end I’ll have plenty to talk about but for now here’s what I got my bloody little fingers on.

Rogue – surprisingly good, I highly recommend it.

Bubba Ho-Tep – classic Coscarelli and Campbell, also highly recommended

Silent Hill – a movie adaptation that doesn’t’ completely suck, it’s worth a watch

The Ungodly – not great but engaging, Wes Bentley offers hit or miss performances in everything he’s in

The Terror/House on Haunted Hill/Night of the Living Dead – two out of three isn’t too bad. The Terror is a piece of bunk but it has a young Jack Nicholson and an ailing Bella Lugosi so it’s still worth watching. The transfers on this three pack are some of the worst I’ve seen. See the movies but avoid this pack (released by Dreamline).

The Ring – it kicked off the Asian remake craze but was one of the only ones done even remotely well. Worth a watch.

Resident Evil: Degeneration – if you’ve always wanted to see a full length film made entirely from video game cut scenes and voiced by sub par English dub artists watch this movie. It’s not bad, it’s just not that good.

Jack Brooks Monster Slayer – it’s campy, it’s cheesy, it’s fun. Robert Englund is great and worth watching the movie to see.

REC – the original Spanish version of America’s Quarantine. I didn’t mind the remake but the original is much more satisfying and the climax of the film is phenomenal. Highly recommended.

Simon Says – I can’t even start with this one. I love watching Crispin Glover doing crazy things but this movie is just nuts. I don’t think it’s good, but I think I liked it. Didn’t I?

The Messengers – the Pang Brothers (The Eye) first foray into American film. It’s mediocre and dull but Kristen Stuarts pretty hot so I’d still say watch it once and never speak of it again.

I also picked up Stuart Gordon’s Castle Freak on VHS. I love all Gordon’s films and this is no exception. Jeffrey Combs is always a blast, watch it, love it.

Leave a Reply

