Slimeball bowl-o-rama? Really?

It seems I’ve been spending a lot more time aquiring movies than writing about them. It’s not that I haven’t been watching them, more that I haven’t been telling you about them.

I saw an ad for a yard sale this past weekend that mentioned VHS and specifically b-horror and cult. How could you ignore that. The sale was set to start at 9 and I was set to be there at 8:30. An 8:00 departure turned into a 9:20 departure and it turns out that Esquimalt is MUCH further away by foot than the map lead me to believe (it looked like an inch to me). My 8:30 arrival was an 11, great.

An Andy Warhol, Linea Quigley sandwich!

Considering what I found, I’d hate to know what I missed out on the two hours I spent walking there. I met a fan after my own heart in Gord, the man running the show.

We talked about Fulci, Argento and he enlightened my on some titles I had never even heard of, that doesn’t happen as often as I’d like.

I picked beautiful copies of both Andy Warhol’s Dracula and Frankenstein. The cover art and boxes alone are amazing, I can’t wait to watch the films.

I also grabbed Mill of the Stone Women looking pretty intimidating in the big box. There’s an Australian film called Body Melt from the early 90’s (no trailer, the clip doesn’t have spoilers but be warned) and something a little more sci-fi in Biohazard. I was extremely happy to find a Mario Bava entry with Hatchet for the Honeymoon and some erotica to round out the swag with Sucubus and my favorite find, Sorority Babes in the Slimeball Bowl-o-Rama.

The walk turned out to be worthwhile. Having a chance to talk to another fan is always a lot of fun and I’m happy with the films I was able to take home.

Leave a Reply

